UpSpring: For Mama & Baby

 

(I was given these UpSpring products for free of charge through Mommycon’s Parent Squad for the purpose of reviewing/sharing with you all. Each opinion stated is my own.)

Happy Monday, friends!

If you guys remember, last year I was part of Mommycon’s Mom Squad and I was able to share some insanely amazing products with you. They’ve shaken things up a little bit and it isn’t just limited to moms now. Now, as the Parent Squad, dads are encouraged to join in on the fun too! We’ve got a great group of parents on the team and I’m so excited to bring you guys information on some new products.

This month, we worked with UpSpring. I’ve seen their alcohol test strips for breastmilk in stores like Target and Buy Buy Baby, but I never purchased them because I rarely ever drink so I just didn’t see the need. I didn’t even realize they had such a wide variety of products so I was really eager to try them out!

img_3793

The first product I tried was the Organic Nipple Balm. When your baby is likely going to be ingesting whatever you put on to soothe your nipples, you want it to be natural and safe. (Plus, it’s annoying to worry about wiping it off before every nursing session!) I am a huge fan of organic nipple balms! Teething has caused nipple sensitivity as of late and this was a huge help. I love that I don’t have to remember one more thing every day (wiping it off) and I’m sure M doesn’t mind that I’m more likely to want to let him nurse without sore nipples! This stuff was the real deal and made our nursing sessions much better.

I’m one of those moms that thinks coconut oil is one of the best products around and it can fix just about everything. UpSpring’s 100% Pure Coconut Oil is just as amazing as I expected! It goes in quick (as long as you aren’t excessive when putting it on) and it really hydrates and protects. M and I both have sensitive skin so even if we buy lotion that is made for that, they don’t seem like they’re giving his skin as much moisture as I’d like. He still ends up with dry bumps and I hate that for him! This coconut oil is perfect for after the bath when you need that extra level of hydration and I love that it’s only one ingredient — coconut oil! What other moisturizer in the baby aisle can say they only have one ingredient?

I was crazy excited to try the Prenatal+ Gummy Multivitamin plus DHA, Choline and Natural Folate. Many people don’t realize that folic acid is not the same as natural folate. I took vitamins with folic acid in them during pregnancy and I wish I would’ve done more research beforehand. (Next time around, I’ll know where to look and to grab vitamins with natural folate!) If you aren’t familiar with the difference between folate and folic acid, folate is the form of the vitamin that is naturally-occurring. It’s what is in foods like spinach and different types of beans. Folic acid is the synthetic form that was created for things like supplements. We should always opt for natural over synthetic – especially when it’s going to benefit our unborn baby. Also, is there anyone out there that doesn’t love gummy vitamins? Because I love them. A lot. And I love the fact that you can take three of these each day and get 100% of the daily value of 11 essential nutrients. Oh, and let us not forget that they are naturally sweetened and free of gluten and GMO’s! You simply cannot go wrong.

This vitamin kit comes with an alpha omega small gel to take either with your prenatals or later on in the day. The pill is small and easy to swallow, making it perfect if you’re feeling even the slightest bit nauseous. They make it so easy to be sure we’re taking care of ourselves and our baby.

Sometimes, mama just needs a drink! We all know that pumping and dumping is not necessary and if you’re safe to drive, you’re safe to breastfeed. But, what if you’re just not sure whether or not you over did it? The MilkScreen test strips are the perfect tool for reassurance. You want to give your baby the best and if that means hand expressing some milk to double check if it’s fine or if you want to check some milk you previously pumped, you can do exactly that. They’re easy to use and I love that they’re individually wrapped so you can take them on the go. I didn’t see the need for these with a newborn, but now that toddler tantrums are here…. I totally get it. Ha!

img_3792
Does anyone else hate taking pills?  Fenugreek supplements are known for being large in size. Plus, you have to take a several a day – unless you get highly concentrated capsules – which can be pricey. This Fenugreek & Blessed Thistle drink mix eliminates that completely. You can drink it by itself or add it to a smoothie! We all have those random days or parts of our cycle where we have an inkling that our milk supply is lower than we’d like. Having this on hand to know that we’re doing everything we can to make sure our baby is getting enough milk is so incredibly helpful. These come in three different flavors: Berry, Citrus and Chocolate. If you aren’t sure which one you’d like to try, you can get a sample for $2.99 on their site! (You’re only paying for the handling costs.)

I had no idea that UpSpring’s product line was so large, and I certainly no idea it stretched into supplements and postpartum care like recovery underwear (for vaginal and cesarean births) or postpartum hip and belly wraps. I truly loved everything that I tried and I can’t wait to try their other products down the road when we have another little one on the way! I highly recommend UpSpring for mamas and their babes.

What UpSpring product are you the most excited about trying? Let me know!

Follow me on Instagram, Facebook & Twitter.

Leave a Reply

