Keepin’ It Natural: AJ Apothecary

I originally began blogging so that I would be able to document little moments here and there. I didn’t expect to meet so many awesome women in the process – but I have!

I’ve met so many fabulous people who just want to get their product out there for others, and I love being able to help. Especially when it’s products that I love and think everyone else will love, as well.

Recently, Amanda, the owner and maker at AJ Apothecary , messaged me and told me that we were very similar:  we both use/want natural products because we both care about what we use on our body. She told me she has some great products and she’d love for me to try them. Of course, not every natural-based product works for everyone, so I feel like it’s important to talk about all of them because we all react differently to different ingredients.

 

I was so excited to receive these products because they are all things that I would use daily. It was like Christmas came early!

When the package arrived, the insanely adorable packaging + unwrapping it really did feel like Christmas.

img_7364

Rose Infused Natural Face Oil

I’ve been very open on my Instagram about how I struggle with super dry skin. Dry patches, flakes and irritated/puffy skin from products that are meant to target dry + sensitive skin. Certain products help to take the edge off but it’s been an uphill battle lately. And I know it’s only going to get worse in the next few months when winter makes an appearance.

This is a blend of sunflower oil, organic camellia seed oil, jojoba oil, meadow foam oil, vitamin E oil, rose petals and rose hips.

I was a little worried that the smell would be too strong for me or make me smell like a gigantic rose bush – and not that that’s even a bad thing, but I’m really sensitive to certain scents. I was pleasantly surprised that this oil barely has any smell to it at all!

Not only will it moisturize your skin (without clogging pores – yay!), but it’s important to mention that it’s vegan, as well. I know that this is something that is very important to a lot of people, so yes – it is indeed vegan!

It’s full of vitamins and antioxidants that also help to nourish the skin and target fine lines + wrinkles, helping to reduce their appearance over time. I’m at the age now where I’ve started worrying about these tiny lines appearing on my face – this oil makes me feel so much better about it. Plus, having a product that helps to moisturize while simultaneously working on those fine lines is helpful. I won’t need two separate products! And it doesn’t even need to be limited to just your face! You can use it all over your body wherever you need some extra hydration.

A 3 fl. oz.  bottle goes a very long way. You only need a few drops of the oil on the palm of your hand.

After applying the oil, I was curious to see how long it took for my skin to not feel as oily anymore. I was fairly generous with the oil because my skin felt really dry after a shower, so it took about 25 minutes to sink in – something that I’m perfectly okay with.

Three hours later and my skin feels just as hydrated as when I initially applied the oil. For someone with skin as dry as mine, this is a huge deal!

Even eight hours later, my skin didn’t feel tight and dry.

I’ve tried multiple different oils – all of which seemed to somehow make my skin feel worse – and so far, this has been the complete opposite. My skin feels soft, smooth and hydrated. I can’t stop touching my face because it feels so good!

My favorite thing to do with this oil is to put it on under my makeup. I’ll apply the oil first, followed by sunscreen, concealer & bb cream. After using some setting powder I can still have that matte finish without worrying about my skin feeling disgustingly dry and rough.

Caffeinated Sugar Scrub

If you follow along with any of my social media accounts, you know that I’m a lover of all things coffee. You won’t need to ask me twice to try something that includes coffee!

It’s pretty well-known that coffee scrubs or scrubs containing caffeine help to minimize the appearance of cellulite. I may be 105 pounds, but I have to deal with this annoying gene, too! It truly doesn’t matter what size you are, even the skinniest of people can have it.

And, because it’s made with organic and natural ingredients, you can feel good about using it on your skin.

The scrub sloughs away dry skin cells while moisturizing the new skin cells beneath. The coffee that is used for the scrub is roasted here in the United States (in Louisville, Kentucky to be exact!) and is also vegan. Talk about a win-win!

Not only will the coffee work towards plumping up the skin cells, it smells seriously amazing. You know how when you’re in the Starbucks drive-thru and they open the window and that amazing smell spills out? That’s what this scrub smells like – it’s heavenly! But what I love even more, is that I can enjoy in the shower and the scent won’t stick to me. I won’t have to spend all day worrying that I smell like a walking + talking coffee bean or that it will overpower any other fragrance I may spray on during the day. For that reason, it is my new favorite product!

All Natural, Aluminum-Free Deodorant

Deodorant is one of those products that can work on each of us very differently. Our bodies are all so different and finding a natural deodorant that works for me may be much harder than it is for you. So, when I find one that I like, I want to make sure I share it so that you can try it out if you haven’t found your perfect match yet.

I feel like natural deodorant has a bad reputation. People assume it doesn’t work, you’ll always smell bad, and it costs a TON of money to have something more natural. While the products can be expensive, it doesn’t always have to be.

AJ Apothecary’s price point is spot on. It starts at $12 for a 2 oz. jar – which may sound small but you don’t use a lot of it. It will last you quite some time.

I’ve never tried a deodorant that wasn’t either a stick or roll-on, so I was slightly intimidated that I needed to put it on my fingertips to apply it. My worries were easily drowned out when I realized how quickly it melted onto my skin. There was no “working it in” to try and make it melt – it was almost instant. I was pleasantly surprised at how fast it was absorbed, leaving my armpits feeling moisturized with no leftover residue.

Back to my sensitive skin struggles – it can be hard to find a deodorant that doesn’t irritate my armpits. If I’m not careful with which deodorants I use, I’ll end up with red, bumpy arm pits that feel like they’re on fire. Thankfully, I don’t have to worry about that with this one! Even immediately after shaving, I can still apply it and not worry about any irritation.

Unlike (pretty much) every deodorant you’ll find in stores, this deodorant does not have aluminum, parabens, phthalates, SLS, synthetic fragrances, or harmful chemicals. (Let’s remember that big brands like Dove and even a “natural” brand such as Tom’s of Maine can’t say this.)

And, let’s not forget – every parent has that, “Oh crap – my pre-teen stinks and needs deodorant” moment. Help them out naturally – don’t put those awful ingredients on their skin. Especially with school starting back up, don’t let them go to class stinky!

Something that is great about each of these products is that they aren’t just for men or just for women – anyone can use them. Obviously you don’t want to use them on babies or toddlers – but teenagers, whether it’s a male or female, can use them as well as older adults. These products can be used by so many different age ranges and groups.

I really think you all will love these products as much as I do! And, you can try them using my special code for 15% off! Enter SOPHIASAYS15 at check out and you’ll be all set!

Take a look around AJ Apothecary and let me know what products you want to try! You’ll be so glad you did!

Leave a Reply

