Leaky Boobs and Oversupply. Oh My!

During pregnancy, I joined tons of different apps like The Bump and BabyCenter and I was part of multiple different Facebook groups related to pregnancy and motherhood.

I read (nearly) every article under the sun about how to prepare for breastfeeding.

So, when I’d start to see women that were just as far along as me, saying things like, “I’m only ___ weeks and already leaking! My milk supply is going to be awesome!” – I panicked.

Breastfeeding was one of the few things related to parenthood that I knew I wanted to do. Before I even got pregnant, I knew I was going to breastfeed my children. Seeing women who were already successful (for the lack of a better word) and our babies weren’t even here yet, freaked me out. What if I wouldn’t be able to breastfeed?

After Max was born, I realized that I had been freaking out over absolutely nothing.

When Max was three days old, it was like a switch flipped. Suddenly I was a hot, and very leaky, mess.

Here I was with the leakiest of boobs – and it just would not slow down.

Everyone that I spoke to and everything that I read said that as soon as my supply regulates, the leaking would subside. But for those of us that deal with oversupply, that can take a lot longer.

Nine months went by and the leaking finally slowed down.

In the beginning, I was leaking too much. I tried to wear my Bamboobies but it just wasn’t enough. I had to wear disposable nursing pads otherwise I would leak through my bra + tank top + shirt at any given moment. I have always had very random let-downs, it wouldn’t matter if I had just nursed or not, I could never keep enough reusable pads clean. As a new mom and a fulltime student, I simply did not have the time or the energy to do laundry every single day and make sure I had enough nursing pads available. (For those of you with an oversupply of milk + insanely strong let-downs, check back in a few days for the disposable nursing pads I used for those beyond ridiculous leaky days of motherhood.)

It was at no fault of Bamboobies, but my own boobs for proving me wrong and trying to make me feel bad for worrying about being able to breastfeed. I swear, the breastfeeding gods were mad that I worried over something so stupid that doesn’t determine whether you’ll produce milk. So, in turn, they punished me by making my boobs overfill and spring a leak at least sixty times a day. (Sadly, this is not an over exaggeration.)

When I’d nurse Max on one side, the other side would leak all over him and soak the entire front of his onesie. It was so frustrating.

I still leak quite a bit at twelve months postpartum but, thankfully, it’s nothing like it was. Now, it’s your typical (and normal) amount of milk leaking out. I’m finally able to stop buying reusable pads and save some money, thanks to Bamboobies!

These nursing pads are beyond soft, you guys. They’re made from organic cotton and rayon from bamboo velour so, unless you’re a weirdo like me that constantly has let-downs and leaks way more than normal, they’re going to be the perfect absorbency for you. Regular Bamboobies come in the shape of a heart and are for days that you have light leaking. They won’t show through your shirt and are so comfy that you forget you even have them in your bra. The overnight pads are blue, round and meant to absorb more so that you wake up feeling dry. (For what seemed like forever, I slept on a towel because -even with nursing pads – I would wake up in the morning to find that my sheets and bed were completely soaked.)

Luckily, Bamboobies can be thrown in the wash with your regular laundry and bam! They’re all ready for their next use.

Bamboobies are truly awesome nursing pads, ladies! I’m clearly not the only one that loves them, as they’ve either won or have been nominated for tons of awards for being some of the best nursing pads around. I wish I could’ve used them more early on in our breastfeeding journey.

You need to give these a try!

Have you heard of Bamboobies or used them before? What did you think? Let me know! 

Connect with Bamboobies on Instagram, Facebook and on their website.

Connect with ME on Instagram and Facebook!

 

2 thoughts on “Leaky Boobs and Oversupply. Oh My!

Leave a Reply

