What’s in your diaper bag?

img_3571
Finding the perfect diaper bag is one thing…

And finding the perfect combination of products to carry with you is another.

I treat our diaper bag like a purse because, let’s face it, M doesn’t need that much stuff. Plus, there are items I want/need to have with me at all times, too! Mama has her own set of junk to tote along with her everyday. Luckily, our diaper bag allows us to have enough space for mama + baby!

It’s taken me quite a while to not only find these products but to really make sure they were worth sharing with all of you. I hope you guys find at least one new product to try!

Skip Hop Pronto! Baby Changing Station: This has really been helpful when out in public, but also when we’re stuck at someone else’s house and M needs his diaper changed. Honestly, I don’t know if I’ve ever been changing his diaper in public where they actually keep up and make sure the changing table liners are stocked. It’s like they’re always empty. But with this, I don’t need to worry about that. Another perk is it lets us keep all of the products needed for diaper changes together so I only need to dig around for one thing inside of the bag.

Skip Hop ‘Chelsea’ Diaper Backpack: *USE CODE ‘SAVER’ AT CHECKOUT FOR UP TO AN ADDITIONAL 20% OFF* I tried several bags before finding this one. Even the $400 Coach bag I used didn’t work as well as this one, and it’s $300 less! It’s beyond helpful when baby wearing, which is the main reason I bought it. It has an expandable drawstring opening and closes with a magnet. There’s adjustable straps so it’s comfortable for everyone – even your husband! M doesn’t drink from bottles but if he did, I’d be so thankful for the two insulated bottle pockets. One of my favorite features is the clip-on stroller straps so you’re not stuck carrying it the entire time and it doesn’t take up any space in the basket underneath. I also love the metal feet – something my Coach bag didn’t have – so the bag was off the ground when I set it down. I was slightly worried about the size, but it fits everything we need + more. It’s full of pockets. Plus – have you seen it?! It’s actually fashionable unlike most diaper bags. I’m obsessed with it!

The Honest Company Wipes: I’ve tried many different wipes and I always end up coming back to these. They’re thick and durable, unlike many other brands I tried that would rip in half as soon as I tried to pull them out of their packages. That was so frustrating! I will say that when cleaning up poop, you do want to double up, but they work great. And they don’t irritate his (very) sensitive skin.

The Honest Company Diaper Cream: Easily the best cream when you notice a rash starting to make an appearance. It is a pretty small tube for the price, but I don’t mind spending the money because it works.

The Honest Company Diapers: These are (by far) my favorite diapers. On occasion I’ll have to grab a small pack of diapers to hold us over while we wait for our next bundle, and it never fails, even with the ‘sensitive’ diapers – M ends up with a horrendous rash or yeast spots in his rolls. Plus, these don’t have that awful diaper smell, which I LOVE.

‘The Gluten Free Bar’: M gets yogurt puffs and I get these! I’m known to turn into the world’s biggest asshole when I’m hungry. I always keep these on hand in case I’m starving and need to eat right that second. Nobody likes a grump!

MommyCon discount cards: You never know when you’ll run into a fellow baby wearing or breastfeeding baby mama and want to introduce her to the amazing world of MommyCon! So, with that being said, did you know you can get $5 off your ticket with the code SOPHIA17? It’s true!

Band-Aid Oh Joy Adhesive Bandages: Plain ‘ol boring Band-Aids are ugly. Yeah, I said it. These, on the other hand, are so stinking cute! I love them. Keeping these in the diaper bag is a must for someone like me that’s super clumsy! Or for when you get a new pair of shoes and realize half way through your trip that breaking them in is one of the most painful things ever.

Babyganics Pure Mineral Sunscreen Stick: We love this for M’s face. M and I both have ridiculously sensitive skin so it’s great that it’s non-allergenic, fragrance free and tear free in case he accidentally rubs some into his eyes. It has broad spectrum SPF 50+ so it has UVA and UVB protection for your little one.

Babyganics Pure Mineral Sunscreen Lotion: This is almost the exact same product as the one before, but it’s in a lotion and is SPF 30+. I love how it absorbs super fast into the skin and isn’t greasy!

Babyganics Natural Insect Repellant: This is the one exception to the ‘tried and true’ statement at the beginning. We haven’t had to use this yet but with mosquito-season fast approaching, it’s something I’ll never leave the house without.

Babyganics On-The-Go Alcohol-Free Foaming Hand Sanitizer: I’ve probably spent $150+ on these sanitizers in the last ten months. They’re amazing and they give me peace of mind. Whenever someone gives M something he shouldn’t have (like their cell phone – which is covered in disgusting germs) or random strangers come up to him and touch his hands I instantly cringe. I get it, babies get sick and they get colds – but why do they need to? The answer: they don’t. Their body simply doesn’t need to deal with that if it doesn’t need to. M is always getting wiped down with these! They also make them in a wipe (here) but M seems to like the foam.

Bite Beauty High Pigment Pencil: I love these lip pencils. If there’s one thing I hate, it’s boring lips. Because I typically wear a lot of black, I like to play around and experiment with bright lip colors! These do the trick. (‘Violet’ is the shade pictured.)

Smashbox ‘Be Lengendary‘ Lipstick in Vivid Violet: They discontinued this shade and I seriously wish they didn’t. It’s such a gorgeous color & I love it because it’s buildable. You can control whether or not you want a light berry color or you really want your lips to pop! They do still make this shade in a lip gloss although I haven’t tried the gloss to know how it compares.

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Anarchy and 69: These lipsticks have such high pigments and are the perfect addition to any outfit. ‘Anarchy’ is more of a bright fuschia whereas ’69’ is your typical bright red shade but has pinky undertones. However, most (if not all) of their shades have been recently discontinued due to Urban Decay preparing to launch over 100 new shades (2o of which are Sephora exclusives) so they’re hard to come by. Definitely check your local Sephora store to see if they have any similar shades! (Also, something that’s really great, is it’s no big deal if you forget your clear lip liner to prevent feathering! These lipsticks never ever bleed when I wear them!)

Pacifica Underarm Deodorant Wipes: When you’re babywearing, you can get seriously warm. Babies put off so much heat! I carry these around with me everywhere in case I get too hot and feel like I need to freshen up. I love anything coconut so I’m obsessed with how they smell!

It’s no surprise that we love our Honest Company and Babyganics products, so of course they made the cut. Fingers crossed you find something new to try! What do you carry that I didn’t mention? Share with me on Instagram (@sophia_sayshello), Facebook (here) or right on this blog post! I can’t wait to hear what you carry around with you!

13 thoughts on “What’s in your diaper bag?

  1. I don’t even carry a diaper bag. Terrible. haha. P.S. I love Honest, too! But usually go for BabyGanics because it’s cheaper. πŸ™‚

  2. I LOVE the Skip Hop Chelsea bag. I have used it since O was one day old and still use it 18 months later. It is the best and holds up super well. It still looks like it is in great condition.

  3. Very informative post. I actually didn’t know there was a alcohol free alternative hand sanitizer for baby

  4. You are so prepared! My diaper bags have just the basics, and then I carry everything else (sunscreen, hand sanitizer, makeup) in my purse. But my purse is big enough to throw a diaper and wipes in if I need to without carrying the diaper bag, so I guess it kind of is the diaper bag sometimes!

Leave a Reply

