To Every Mom on Mother’s Day

No matter how you became a mom, happy Mother’s Day.

First, I want to say to all of the mama’s with Angel babies, I know today can bring more of a sting than anything. Several years ago, we had learned I was pregnant. However, we later went to our 12-week check up and learned the baby had stopped growing right at 6 weeks (a blighted ovum) and I was diagnosed with a missed miscarriage. On Mother’s Day of that year and for the next several years I felt that exact sting and hurt when I remembered that I should have a baby to hold. We may not physically get to hold our babies yet, but we will someday, and in my eyes: you’re still a mother. And a great one, at that.

And to all the women who are trying so hard to conceive and are struggling – you aren’t alone. It may hurt right now, but there will be a silver lining somewhere and your family will grow.

Being a mom is one of the best gifts in the world. Everyone that wants to experience it should get to.

It’s exhausting, messy (suddenly you just don’t care if you get another person’s vomit or poop on you because that’s the new normal), beautiful and the majority of the time: thankless.

I’ve recently read about a lot of women saying how sad it makes them that their husband/significant other doesn’t do anything for them for Mother’s Day, and I can’t say I blame them. We do so much and work so hard to raise a little human into a strong adult, saying “thank you” or “I appreciate you” shouldn’t be terribly difficult. (And, honestly, a bouquet of flowers or breakfast in bed with a hug can go a long way.) But I want you to know that even if your significant other isn’t telling you those things, that doesn’t mean you don’t deserve to hear it. You’re an amazing mother and I appreciate what you’re doing to raise your kids into kind, strong adults.

Often times, we don’t realize how hard of a job this is until we’re doing it, and then the appreciation for our own mother grows immensely. I know mine did!

So, today, I hope you know you’re doing a great job. Even if it doesn’t feel that way sometimes. Or you feel like you’re doing everything wrong. Which, let’s face it, we all feel that way sometimes.

You’re doing amazing and your kids are so lucky to have you as their mother.

Leave a Reply

